Myself · Uncategorized

Dip, If You Must

Making a decision to dip an animal shouldn’t be taken lightly. As with my situation there was a mysterious affliction that hit my indoor cats.I took the worst one to a vet and spent $100s on a shampoo and meds for them all. No good results. Returned a different cat to a different vet, had different tests ran, spent $100s more for a different round of meds and no good results. Since ringworm and other bacterial reasons were ruled out I bought this sulfur dip to treat the cats. I am only up to the second dip routine and have at least four more to go to kill all possible egg cycles.

s-l500-1
Sulfur Lime Dip

This product does smell. This product does leave a slightly waxy residue anywhere it is splashed during use. This product will stain your fingernails if you don’t use gloves. This product will sting fresh cuts slightly. This product will temporarily turn white fur yellow. That being said, the smell does evaporate after a few hours. The waxy residue does wash away with hot soapy water. The yellow fingernails will fade after several washings/scrubbings/hand-washed dishes. As the fur dries the yellow tint does go away, but the smell stays on the animal (just not really strong).

When this product dries it doesn’t leave the pet looking gnarly and pitiful. So far, my dipped pets dry to a silky smooth coat. It is recommended that prior to dipping you bathe them with a Benzoyl Peroxide shampoo to remove grease and oil build up. I did that prior to my first round of dipping. I did not do it for my second round because my cats are fed a raw food diet and their skin and coat do not have the problem with oil. So, I will probably alternate shampooing with the Benzoyl Peroxide.

s-l1600
Benzoyl Peroxide Shampoo

 

The lime dip product is to be allowed to air dry on the animal and not to be rinsed, blown dry or licked off. The licking is the hardest to prevent especially when they insist on mutual grooming. I do have an Elizabethan collar, but is causes stress to the cats. I cut the toes out of ankle socks (and elastic band) and put the socklet over the head to protect their neck areas from being licked or scratched with dirty feet. Once dried I remove the socklet and if there is continuous scratching I replace the socklet.

s-l200
Elizabethan Collar

After my first round of dipping each cat scratched incessantly for days. I kept the socklets on to prevent further problems and reduce the chance of bacterial infections from dirty feet. After this second dipping there isn’t scratching and no need for the socklets. This alone assures me that the dip is working for my particular outbreak issue. Each person and each animal will respond differently. The only way to make dipping an animal worth the price of the product is to USE the product diluted properly and to USE the product every 10 days for at least a month in order to kill all of the eggs and break the cycle for good. Wash their bedding with each dip to kill eggs on the bedding. I use some of the solution in a spritz bottle to spray inside kennels and un-washables.

My cats do not fight being dipped any more than they fight having a normal bath. They don’t like either one but it isn’t overly stressful for them. I use a washcloth to get the dip solution into their ears and as close to the cheeks and face area as possible without getting it into their eyes. I squeeze as much water from their fur, feet and tail as I can then let them sit on a towel for a minute to let them relax. I put them in a small carrier kennel to keep them warm as they dry a bit. I put the socklet around their neck just as I release them from the carrier.

I do have one cat, Tigger the Tabby, that is high strung when it comes to water. I do get the dip solution on the neck and face of this cat by being patient. I keep a small jar of the solution with me and everytime I pet him I wet my fingers and rub it into the fur and skin. It does take some time but it gets the job done and the cat isn’t stressed and I am not bloody and cut to ribbons. The first time I dipped Tigger the Tabby I put him in a product designed for cats and I’m sure it’d work great on any animal. It is a soft carrier made of denim. There is a zipper on one end and an adjustable velcro neck opening. Once the animal is in the bag, zip it closed and slowly get the cat/animal to put its head through the head opening. Cinch the opening around the neck securely but not tightly. If the animal can get its paw through the opening it is too loose. This bag allows you to bathe and groom without getting scratched. You put the shampoo on the animal (zip and unzip as needed to access the animal) and zip it closed and use the bag material as a washcloth. The bag is machine washable. This is also a pet carrier, it has a handle to place over your shoulder or you can run a car seat belt through it to give the animal a secure way to travel. I got mine from eBay. Search term is “cat in the bag”.

s-l500
Cat in the Bag

This product review is actually for two products, the dip and the soft pet carrier, as I feel the two work wonderfully together if you have a hard-to-handle pet. I do wish you luck if you have no other recourse than to dip your pet.

Good Luck!

 

2 thoughts on “Dip, If You Must

    1. I know. It’s really annoying that it happens to indoor pets by “tracking” in things from strays getting out of hand around here. I’m getting a hold on it though, finally.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

